Information on the most visited continent in the world. Learn about Eurailing in the summer, travel through post-communist countries and what to do in Paris with a 12-hour layover.

2013 - 5 Month Trip - Would Love Some Advice!!

AmyTravelBugg

Thorn Tree Refugee

Share on Orkut

This thread doesn't have any tags.

You can still check out the tag index though.

What are tags?
  • Added on: November 9th, 2011
Hello All,

Let me start by saying I'm an amateur traveler. I've been on a few short vacations, but nothing substantial. I've always had the travel bug but lacked the courage.

I've decided to put it all on the table and start planning a trip - I have a great job and realistically, I will be able to save $20-30,000 by May of 2013, if not more.

I've created a rough outline of my plans, and would love some feedback - is my timing realistic? Is my budget realistic? Is there anything I need to seriously consider?

Some background info: I'm looking for a mixture of experiences. I want to get a tan on the beach and experience some amazing architecture. I want to discover cozy hidden cafes and hit some notorious nightspots. I'm fine with staying at hostels but would like to experience the finer things on occasion. I want to explore off the beaten path here and there. Most importantly, I want to experience different cultures and grow as a person.

Late May/Early June: Fly from USA to Madrid

June 2013: Spain (Madrid, Andalucia, Morocco, Barcelona)
End of June: Fly to Athens (This leg of my trip could be eliminated, depending on safety issues etc. tied to the Greek economic collapse)

Beginning of July: Greece
End of July: Turkey (North Aegean, Istanbul, Black Sea)

August: Explore major cities of Eastern Europe - Sofia, Budapest, Vienna, Prague
End of August: Fly to Croatia (Is this the best method of travel here?)

Early September: Croatia (Split, Zagreb) - 1 to 1.5 weeks
Remainder of September: Northern Italy (Incl. Venice)

Beginning of October: Fly to Berlin