Dust off a forgotten foreign tongue, debate the best ways to learn another language, pick up some slang in the local lingo, discuss regional dialects. The subforums are archives of older resource threads.

Anyone else studying Russian?

Arre

Holds PhD in Packing

Share on Orkut

This thread doesn't have any tags.

You can still check out the tag index though.

What are tags?
  • Added on: April 3rd, 2009
Pretty self-explanatory. I recently started studying Russian using some awesome books I took out of the university library, some online lessons (for pronunciation purposes, mainly), and a few other random resources.

I'm finding it easier than I'd expected, although I haven't really gotten to the meat of the noun declensions, which (even with experience in Latin) will probably severely trip me up.

I just ordered Harry Potter in Russian from Amazon.com, too, but I'm going to be stuck waiting on that for quite a while- the estimated delivery time to New Zealand was 16-44 days!

So... anybody else struggling to learn to говорить и читать по-русськи?
http://sierralights.blogspot.com/ -> blog about living in Turkey and Palestine

skobb

Extra Pages in Passport

Share on Orkut

• Added on: April 5th, 2009
The nouns aren't the hardest part, it is the verbs of motion. It is so foreign to an English speaker that it is really challenging. Getting a feel for the cases is tricky too, but a lot of that is memorization and learning some rules. There is a lot more "art" to the verbs of motion though.

I'd recommend the Penguin Russian guide. Also the Matzner dictionary is excellent. You might also want 501 Russian Verbs.

Good luck!

Malinkibear

Thorn Tree Refugee

Share on Orkut

• Added on: May 14th, 2010
I know this is very old, но да, я изучаю русский язык :D

cybersusst

Holds PhD in Packing

Share on Orkut

• Added on: June 6th, 2010