Discuss long-term and Round the World Travel. Share experiences, tips and encourage others to take the plunge. Help others plan their itineraries and budgets for upcoming epic adventures.

Buy a house and travel RTW for 1 year to 18 months?

jetlagged

Thorn Tree Refugee

Share on Orkut

This thread doesn't have any tags.

You can still check out the tag index though.

What are tags?
  • Added on: May 10th, 2011
just a brief background on myself since this is my first post.

I live in the U.S. I'm currently 28 years old, turning 29 this fall. i graduated from college 5 years ago, i've been working at the same job since then, and during that span i've only been to 2 countries, 1 of which i did solo and planned on my own. Both trips lasted on average 2 weeks, but despite the short time i spent, it was really memorable. i know i want to travel the world for 1 year at the minimum, 18 months at the maximum. Simply put, i want to see the world before i decide to work for the next 30 years of my life. I want to put my plans and motion into place just before I turn 30. so I got more than a year to plan this out.

i live with my folks, so i don't really have to pay a lot as a result, and managed to save up nearly 70 percent of what I’ve been making during that span. my friends are not really supportive of me traveling the world, they say stuff like, "why are you going to quit your job in this bad economic times, you probably won't get a job when you return." another thing they tell me is "you're really dumb and stupid for not buying a house at this time when they are so affordable." i know what people might say, if your friends say that stuff to you, they ain't really your friends. Even my parents aren't supportive of my dream to check out and travel the world.