Dust off a forgotten foreign tongue, debate the best ways to learn another language, pick up some slang in the local lingo, discuss regional dialects. The subforums are archives of older resource threads.

Class frustrations, immersion software, CDs & other methods

Hideo

Holds PhD in Packing

Share on Orkut

This thread doesn't have any tags.

You can still check out the tag index though.

What are tags?
  • Added on: October 1st, 2009
In an attempt to not forget the Japanese I learnt when living in Japan a couple of years ago I am studying Japanese, but all these points apply to any language learning.

I go to evening classes but get quite frustrated there for a number of reasons:
- the pace is slow at times, and too quick at others when the teacher moves us along despite nobody really having mastered the point.
- the range of abilities in the class is big, even for a small class number, despite all supposedly being at the same level.
- when paired for practice with some students for drills they prove utterly incapable of doing it even though what they need to say is more or less written out for them, and they give up and speak in English.

This has lead me to try various other methods to keep up my study (although my own personal laziness does get in the way at times it must be said.

I had used Pimsleurs prior to going to Japan and a little bit since, and I think it's quite good. It doesn't just start off with the normal basics, by which I mean saying hello, counting, days of the week etc, but gets quickly into real situations and full sentences, adding more basics as you go. It also doesn't mention what grammar point your are using, even though you may be using a specific form of the verb that you may not otherwise have learnt for a while. This has good and bad points to it, but for me the main drawback was that it only teaches you more formal speech rather than informal or "real" speech.