Too often lumped in with North America, Mexico is a country that stands out on its own.

Decent Spanish classes around Playa del Carmen

Chebasaz

Guidebook Dependent

Share on Orkut

This thread doesn't have any tags.

You can still check out the tag index though.

What are tags?
  • Added on: December 20th, 2010
Hey folks,

My original plan was to kick off the RTW in April with some immersive Spanish classes in Sucre, Bolivia. However, I just learned that my family is going to spend some time in PdC around July and I'd like to meet up with them. Seeing how it makes more sense to start in Mexico and work my way south rather than travel back and forth, I'm now looking for a good place to chill for a few months and get some Spanish lessons in.

Ran a few searches but can't find anything specific to the area. I've seen Mexico suggested as a good place to learn Spanish (I'm a very rough beginner) so I'm hopeful it can work out.

Details:

Budget - up to $50-60 a day (though less is always nice)

Location - Anywhere within 6-8 hours of PdC. I'll be on my own from April to July so theoretically it could be anywhere, but I'd like to stay in the general area. PdC itself would work, but I'm afraid the number of English speakers there would handicap the Spanish lessons. Tulum may have the same problem?

Nit-picking desires - Somewhere that I can get good Spanish lessons and be immersed, but still have access to the occasional wi-fi spot. Surfing lessons and some good diving would rock, but not necessary. Inland suggestions are more than welcome, too.

Thanks in advance for any help!
If you can fill the unforgiving minute
With sixty seconds' worth of distance run,
Yours is the Earth and everything that's in it,
And--which is more--you'll be a Man, my son!

-Rudyard Kipling

Not the first Travis

Future Expat

Share on Orkut

I don't know why you're having trouble. I went to google and entered "playa del carmen language" and got many links to schools.