Head Down Under and yap about bloody Australia, New Zealand and the Pacific Islands. Determine the best place to buy a car, how to get a working holiday visa and the best route for travelling in Oz and around the Kiwi Islands.

Finding jobs in Australia.

EpochCatcher

• Added on: January 16th, 2013
Hello, everyone!

I am arriving in Sydney on a Work & Holiday visa on March 3rd (I'm American), and I am a little nervous. I have everything prepared (backpack, sufficient funds, health & travel insurance, booked a hostel for a few nights, etc.), but I still am not prepared for finding a job. I have read that the Australian job market has shrunk over the past year, and I am slightly...apprehensive. This will be my first time traveling overseas on my own, and my first time really supporting myself on my own.

I have a Bachelor's degree in English/Writing, and I have a year of experience working for an art gallery, but other than that, I'm young and rather unskilled. I've been looking at the usual sites like Seek and GumTree, and I've seen some cool jobs that fit my qualifications, but I am not so sure how Australian employers react to the working holiday crowd. Must we all pick fruit or bartend? I've heard hospitality is in demand, but I don't plan on bringing any clothes that need to be ironed. Would hotels supply uniforms? Would I be able to snag a temporary/casual job related to my degree? I am even toying with the idea of sponsorship while I'm over there (not matter how unlikely), if I like it enough.