Eire is more than just Guinness, green hills and redheads... Come talk about what makes Ireland so special.

Help! 85th Birthday trip to Ireland...

kel

Thorn Tree Refugee

Share on Orkut

This thread doesn't have any tags.

You can still check out the tag index though.

What are tags?
  • Added on: April 11th, 2009
Alright booties, I need your help.

I have been given the task of planning a surprise birthday trip to Ireland for my grandmother, who turns 85 this summer. It will be myself (26) my mother (50's) and my dear grandmother (85). She's never been before, but has always wanted to go given our family ancestry. I've only been to Galway, and it was ages ago. And honestly, I was just on the piss the entire time with friends so didn't see much of the sights.

My problem? My mom wants to do a tour. I've never done an organized tour before, as its not really my style - but I'm not paying (hurrah!) so I can't really complain. And after dragging the two of them around New Zealand and playing tour guide myself for 2 weeks last year, I welcome the idea of not having to plan every little detail. (I am NOT a planner - and they like to know what is going on ever minute of every day, which caused a bit of friction towards the end...)

I realize that this probably isnt the *best* place to ask for advice on tour companies, as it goes against the independent travel spirit that most people here share - but I figured you may be able to help a little about what I should look for (places not to be missed, etc) . Any advice, suggestions, etc welcome!

We're looking to go early June, and do a 7 or so day tour. After the tour, I'd like to stay in one area for an extra few days to wind down, possibly stay in a quaint B&B, do a little shopping, and just relax before our flight back.