If you're interested in living abroad for any reason or any length of time - from becoming an expat to volunteering or teaching English for a few months - this is the forum to discuss it. Learn about TEFL, Peace Corps, international volunteer organizations and corporate opportunities. Discuss visas, logistics of moving overseas and how to work 'under the table'.

International Schools vs. TEFL, CELTA, etc.

chi.

Armchair Traveler

Share on Orkut

Tags: international schools, english schools, tefl, celta, teaching
  • Added on: July 26th, 2007
I am a science teacher in the U.S. and am looking for an international school in either Vietnam or Latin America. I will have 2 years experience before I begin (most international schools seem to require that), but my husband has no teaching experience so we are looking at the whole TEFL, CELTA thing for him. However, he is Vietnamese, and as you may know some English-language schools only want to hire Caucasians. So, I have a couple questions about international vs. English-language schools if you all can help me.

1. There are many more English-language schools than international schools--would it be easier if I just applied at English-language schools as well? (I have no certification, though I have English as a Second language experience.

2. Are the working conditions worse in English schools than International (I have heard that you get no planning period or few resources at English schools, and that the work hours could be spread over a 12-hour period.

3. Are there any great international schools or English schools you could recommend in either Latin America or Vietnam?

So sorry that is so long! Any other international vs. English school advice would be awesome, too.!

KateL57

Vagabonder

Share on Orkut

(just deleted my own nicely written post, sorry)