Discuss long-term and Round the World Travel. Share experiences, tips and encourage others to take the plunge. Help others plan their itineraries and budgets for upcoming epic adventures.

Is this budget information accurate?

yanks26dmb

Holds PhD in Packing

Share on Orkut

This thread doesn't have any tags.

You can still check out the tag index though.

What are tags?
  • Added on: October 26th, 2011
Take a minute to read their criteria...

Seems a bit low to me, but, this is my first RTW so I have no first hand experience. What do some of your more experienced people think?

http://www.priceoftravel.com/755/asian- ... -for-2011/

Tortuga_traveller

Extra Pages in Passport

Share on Orkut

• Added on: October 26th, 2011
Looks about right to me, though I always take the food portion of any 'budget' with a grain of salt unless they specify what kind of meals you are getting for the price.

I ate in better places in some areas, and in others, I lived off of cheap lunch trucks and Thali restaurants that have seemed 'dirt cheap'

For example.

One filling meal in Aguascalientes, Peru, just before one takes the train to Machu Pichu.

market: 1-4 dollars
Restaurants in town. 6 to 12 dollars after all is said and done

I think I paid less for my rathole of a hostel in Mumbai, but it probably didn't meet the minimum quality level of the budget. The other choice, even cheaper., was the Salvation army hostel, but THEY had rampant bedbugs. No thanks.

So they're more or less in line, I suppose.

BTW- thesd are asian prices. Jump to Europe and just about double that, not counting the lower exchange rate for the dollar. Usually, what you get for a buck here is what you get for a euro there.

When in doubt, pick a higher number as an estimate. That way you won't find yourself in the position of 30 days left and no money except for the pre-paid plane ticket.
Open your heart, and your dreams will follow

Andromeda

Street Food Connoisseur

Share on Orkut