Discuss long-term and Round the World Travel. Share experiences, tips and encourage others to take the plunge. Help others plan their itineraries and budgets for upcoming epic adventures.

IT jobs in India??? IT consulting jobs that require travel

Renee

Holds PhD in Packing

Share on Orkut

This thread doesn't have any tags.

You can still check out the tag index though.

What are tags?
  • Added on: February 5th, 2011
Does anyone know anything about getting some type of IT consulting job in India or in the US that requires travel? I have almost 30 years of IT experience & a masters degree in information systems & have been with my current company since 1995... I just really want to get a job anywhere but in the US... But I do start a new project in Baltimore in a week, for which I am grateful... I just don't think I want to do this job more than a year or two...

Thanks as always,
Renee

SAPMonkey

Armchair Traveler

Share on Orkut

• Added on: February 6th, 2011
The skillset you have is the primary factor in this. What field, what experience do you bring, what is the project need? You will find that non-US, mostly Indian, consultants will accept rates that are a lot lower than most US based folks will. I will probably get flamed for the next bit. I know some US based companies that were able to leverage the perception of Indian based firms and Indian trained consultants falling short on out-of-box thinking. The market is competitive, so use whatever you can to get an edge. Try looking for a international project with a US component where you could be local for part of the job, reducing costs, and leverage the cultural angle as well. If you talk and think like your customer, they will take you over the other guy as it means they probably get a higher quality solution.

Chebasaz

Guidebook Dependent

Share on Orkut

• Added on: February 6th, 2011
I think you summed it up pretty well. No flaming here.