England, Wales, Scotland, Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland. Five distinct countries in a very small area. Enjoy!

Looking for advice on the best places to go

lior

Thorn Tree Refugee

Share on Orkut

This thread doesn't have any tags.

You can still check out the tag index though.

What are tags?
  • Added on: August 9th, 2010
I have about three weeks in Ireland from 29th of August until the 21 of September.

I'm traveling alone, don't plan on renting a car.

Looking for the best places to see, countryside, history, nature and "Real Ireland"...

Any suggestions will be welcome...

P.S- planning on traveling cheap...I'm a student :)

etravgirl

Thorn Tree Refugee

Share on Orkut

• Added on: August 9th, 2010
You should check out www.travaddict.com. They have lots of different options for trips, and Im sure they would have plenty of stuff for Ireland. They cater to young travelers on a budget.

lauracatherine

Holds PhD in Packing

Share on Orkut

• Added on: August 10th, 2010
It's kind of touristic, but the Ring of Kerry is gorgeous. The Ring of Skellig (an extension of RoK) is not as common. Not sure how you'd get out there without your own wheels...

Skip the Cliffs of Moher, (although Doolin, which is nice, near the Cliffs seems to cater to backpackers) skip the Dolmen, spend the least amount of time in Dublin (not represent of Ireland at all). Waterford is cute, port town-ish though.

If you're feeling bold, hitchhike! I haven't, but know people who have, and I have heaps of family there, and have met enough random locals that I'd feel comfortable enough doing it, and I'm not a huge risk taker.

For some random Irish history, Cong, County Mayo is The Quiet Man was filmed. It's an old Irish movie with John Wayne and Maureen OHara in it. Anyways, there's a lot of stuff dedicated to the movie there. I was there a few years ago with my family and the owner of the pub the cast hung out in closed the pub but let us stay as long as we like!