A place for geezers, grey hairs, and oldies to discuss independent travel. Reminisce about travel in the days before Lonely Planet and discuss issues applicable to the mature traveller.

Mid-40s -- Taking a Gap Year

Pelke

Holds PhD in Packing

Share on Orkut

This thread doesn't have any tags.

You can still check out the tag index though.

What are tags?
  • Added on: May 17th, 2005
Well, I don't consider myself a golden oldie quite yet (I'm 43), but I guess compared to the average member here, this is a good plave for me to start!

I've been working steadily for 21 years now and decided I'm ready to take a year off to travel before I become a real golden oldie. Obviously, I'll have to quit my job and deal with other issues, like renting out the house, etc.

I'm curious if there are any others out there in their 40s who've done the same? If so, what issues did you face in preparing for your trip and in finding work on your return? Did you return to your previous career, or head in a new direction? Do you have any regrets in taking off for so long?

Any of your insights will certainly be appreciated!

Thanks.........John
Pelke

mina olen

World Citizen

Share on Orkut

• Added on: May 17th, 2005
Good for you!!! I'm way behind you, but you are inspiring~

out of curiosity, do you have wife/kids? (dont answer if that is too forward)

any theories about travel at a ripe age vs. a spring chicken?? I got some Wink (theories that is)
<>*<>*<>*<>*<>*<>*<>*<>*<>*<>*<>*<>*<>*<>*<>*<>*<>*<>

socalgirl

World Citizen

Share on Orkut

• Added on: May 18th, 2005
Hey John from Austin!

Welcome to the Boards. I find myself in the same situation. I've been working since age 16 and I'm 44 now. In my mind I'm at the mid point in my life, which can cause some soul searching.

Just happens my parents are selling their house that my sister & I live in and will be giving us both a stack of cash to put down on a house or whatever.

When better in life could I make a move?