Dust off a forgotten foreign tongue, debate the best ways to learn another language, pick up some slang in the local lingo, discuss regional dialects... It's all about being multi-lingual, baby.

Morocco: no French or Arabic, am I screwed?

chicademusica

Armchair Traveler

Share on Orkut

This thread doesn't have any tags.

You can still check out the tag index though.

What are tags?
  • Added on: October 11th, 2006
This will be my first time visiting a country where I have no exposure or experience with the language(s). Not sure whether I should try to take a stab at my French or Moroccon Arabic phrasebook since I'm sure European French is a bit different. My ideas so far are to bring paper to write on for times and amounts and maybe one of those multilingual flipbooks that has pictures of things like busses and food so that I can point to what I want. Obviously, I'm going to try and keep it simple. Any pointers? Anyone traveled there in my similar language situation?

Felix the Hat

Extra Pages in Passport

Share on Orkut

If you arrive in Morocco at Tangier, you'll be wishing that you spoke a language Moroccans can't speak. I've never been to a country whose population speaks more languages more fluently than Morocco.

Don't worry about Moroccan Arabic, since only Moroccans speak that. People from Lebanon or Egypt can't understand Morccan Arabic, so it's not a big deal. French is the most useful European language - all Moroccan speak it. Most of the people you'll encounter will also speak Spanish and English to some degree, and often German, Italian, and Swedish too.

You'll be able to get by in English. Don't worry about missing out on things not speaking French. All tourists in Morocco get hustled some way or another, French-speaking or not.

It would be a good idea to be able to read very basic French, though. Signage in Morocco is almost all Arabic and French, as well as railway timetables, menus, etc.

Joey

Began Gap Year Trip Six Years Ago