How do you put together the finances for your travels, long-term or short-term? What do you sacrifice in order to save up the necessary cash? What's your best money-saving tip on the road? Share your money tips - and pick up a few - right here.

New Year's Resolution: Extreme Way to Save $$?

ord2rtw2013

Armchair Traveler

Share on Orkut

This thread doesn't have any tags.

You can still check out the tag index though.

What are tags?
  • Added on: December 31st, 2010
Hello all,

I'm new to Bootsnall, and I'm so excited that there's a site like this for those of us with itchy feet! :lol: I was just wondering what some of your New Year's resolutions are for funding your next BIG trip. I haven't told anyone what I plan to do because they would think I'm nuts. "Nuts" because I've just joined the unfortunate age group that believes going out for margaritas in the big city and plooping down a wad of cash on a home entertainment system is normal. Apparently, when you turn 30, you're suppose to be settled into a specific kind of life, but that's another post I may start later. hehe

Anyway this is my plan:
1. Move into the YMCA or get a roommate to get rent under $400 and pretend it's my current rent of $690.
2. Give away 90% of my stuff to goodwill and use it as a tax deduction.
3. Open a 2 year cd that automatically takes out $200 every check and pretend it's a wage garnishment.
4. Dump those people that will only do things with me that cost money. Not really sure if I'm being too harsh, but a lot of people don't seem to have respect for what I'm trying to do unless it's in the "buy a house" category. They refuse to do anything free or low cost with me and it makes me feel bad.
5. Stay in for New Year's (haha, I'm doing that now)
6. Buy clothes only from thrift stores.
7. Get a second job while studying full-time and working part-time.