Figure out the best place to stay on Khao San Road in Bangkok and where to escape when you've had enough of the mayhem. From Singapore Slings to the changes in Bejing after the 2008 Olympics, gab about it all here.

Thailand Itinerary: 2 Weeks

Dan B.

Thorn Tree Refugee

Share on Orkut

Tags: thailand, itinerary
  • Added on: May 29th, 2011
Hi All,

It's my first time in Thailand and would greatly appreciate some itinerary assistance! I'll be traveling from June 23-July 7. I am a 26-year-old guy and looking to relax and have fun before starting a new job. I'm not looking to penny pinch but I'm not comfortable spending hundreds per night at luxury resorts. I am less interested in the nightlife and more interested in the food, culture, beaches, and natural beauty.

I would greatly appreciate any suggestions about where to go, how to long to stay, and what I should do. Thank you in advance!

Bideshi

Street Food Connoisseur

Share on Orkut

Here are a few places I think you should look into:

Koh Tao - diving, snorkeling, beaches. It can be social, very quiet, expensive, or really pretty reasonable, depending on where you go. I love cheap, snorkeling, hiking, and quiet, so I always go to View Rock Resort on the back side of the island, but there's something for everyone.

Sukhothai (sp?) - I liked it. It was easy to get to, relatively cheap, and a nice place to break up the journey on the way to Chiang Mai. It's a nice example of old temples and ruins.

Chiang Mai - lots of temples, a fantastic falafel restaurant :D , and access to surrounding hills and all the things that go with them. A relatively cheap city overall.

Krabi - Not the cheapest of places, but get out on a tour and see some of the islands and rock formations in the area.

Have a great trip!

Bideshi

Street Food Connoisseur

Share on Orkut

Oh! And I really enjoyed Kanchanaburi too. Stay on a floating cabin with a hammock.... ahhhhh....

busman7

World Citizen

Share on Orkut