Whether it's diving in Belize or venturing on an eco-trek in Costa Rica, you'll find answers to your questions on Central America travel here.

Time frame for central america?

Jbro33

Thorn Tree Refugee

Share on Orkut

Tags: central america
  • Added on: May 18th, 2011
Hello everyone,

I am pretty new to traveling and this site. I am planning my first RTW adventure that I plan on taking in 2-3 years. In order to keep myself from getting overwhelmed I am planning one leg of the trip at a time.

Anyway, I am planning my first leg of the trip. I plan on starting in Belize and then working my way down to Panama before crossing into South America.

My first questions is what is a decent time frame for each country. Right now I am thinking

Belize 1-2 weeks
Guatemala 2-3 weeks
Honduras 1-2 weeks
Nicaragua 1-2 weeks
Costa Rica 2-3 weeks
Panama 1-2 weeks

I am debating if I want to stop in El Salvador or not. I have heard nothing but horrible things. I have friends who are from there, and friends who have travelled there and I never hear anything positive. Is this somewhere I should add? If so why?

So I am thinking 8-14 weeks in central america. I know it could take a lifetime to see everything, but is this a good time frame? Should I add more time or less time? I am interested in being a beach bum, surfing, hiking, bird watching and water sports in central america, maybe a language school.

I am not trying to plan too much in advance but I do want to plan timelines so I can work on a budget, after I plan where I want to go.

Also is public transportation easy between the countries? It seems silly to fly from country to country, but I am just curious, is it relatively cheap or should I budget for more expensive travel?

Ok I think that is all for now! thanks

Jbro33

Thorn Tree Refugee

Share on Orkut

• Added on: May 18th, 2011
PS I want to add I would like to travel for 2 years maybe 2.5 if I don't get to everywhere I want.

busman7

World Citizen

Share on Orkut