Like it or love it, most of us have to work for a living. This is the place to commiserate with other cube-dwellers and get tips from other business travelers. Talk about how the daily grind will one day allow you to realize your vagabond dreams. Share tips for turning travel you have to do into travel you want to do.

Traveling as a Career

Tangface

Thorn Tree Refugee

Share on Orkut

This thread doesn't have any tags.

You can still check out the tag index though.

What are tags?
  • Added on: May 27th, 2009
Hey everyone, I'm a a rising sophomore in college and its time to seriously decide on what I want to do as a career. In the beginning I had planned to become a doctor (non surgeon) and then retire early to travel the world. As my first year ended I realized I can't wait that long. I have a serious case of wanderlust to see and explore the world today.

So basically I need to find a career that would allow me to travel as work. But the hard part is I want a career that would enable me to stay in a country/city outside of the US for a few months out of the year rather than travel every other week in another city. I want to be able to explore and learn more about the history of that country/city. Not have a glimpse of it and then move on.

Any suggestions would be greatly welcomed and appreciated. Thanks.

2wanderers

Extra Pages in Passport

Share on Orkut

• Added on: May 28th, 2009
There's few career paths where you will start with that kind of flexibility. The Foreign Service comes to mind as a good option. Skobb is our resident expert on that, and he's got an extensive thread on it over here.