Discuss long-term and Round the World Travel. Share experiences, tips and encourage others to take the plunge. Help others plan their itineraries and budgets for upcoming epic adventures.

What does everyone do about their jobs?

D R A

Thorn Tree Refugee

Share on Orkut

This thread doesn't have any tags.

You can still check out the tag index though.

What are tags?
  • Added on: March 19th, 2012
Feel free to direct me to another post if this has already been addressed...

I'm curious what everyone does about their jobs while travelling around the world. Are you between jobs, do you quit, use vacation leave?

2wanderers

Extra Pages in Passport

Share on Orkut

While frequently discussed, I'm not sure there's a dedicated thread to the various options.

I've only done a couple of multi-month trips. The first was 2 months in Ireland, done while I was a university student, and conveniently had summers off. It was supposed to be 4 months, but I ran out of money early...the downside of student travel.

The second long trip, 5 months to overland from Egypt to Hungary, plus some stops in Malta, Paris and London, was a year after I finished school. I worked a crap job for exactly 50 weeks while living with my parents. Then I quit and went traveling. When I came back, I found a better job that put me on a career track, and have had golden handcuffs ever since, taking at most 3 weeks of vacation at a time.

Mid-career, you really only have two options for long trips:
- Talk your boss into giving you an extended unpaid leave
- Quit

WhatsThisButtonDo

Guidebook Dependent

Share on Orkut

I had 2 options:
  • I talked to my manager (A long time before I planned to go) about unpaid leave and they offered me a 2-3 month break aslong as I fitted it in between projects. The benefit to this is that I would have a job to come back to when I was done.